Tags

, ,

So the final decision was made to go for the Samsung Fold Z4 after much research. But the main reason was that it was something very different in comparison to the others. I’ve had the phone for about 2 weeks plus, so below are some of my personal opinions and experiences.

Yes, first of all, it was foldable and it was the first time I experienced it. In fact, it was a very different experience as over the years, the usage and feel, whether it was IOS or Android, came to a standstill as both are very mature and stable in their respective eco-systems. So over the years, when we changed to a new phone, the feeling of something new was very minor. Yes, there are changes, but not a lot of improvement.

Everything comes down to personal experience.

The front display Yes, it was relatively smaller compared to others. However, I think that it comes down to personal choices and daily usage. For me, I like my fonts to be the smallest and I am used to a Swype keyboard. Hence, the overall experience is very good even though the aspect ratio of the screen was comparatively smaller as I swiped with one hand. However, when viewing content and playing games, the front-screen aspect ratio was relatively small. Hence, it will be good for viewing email and messages but not ideal for viewing content and gaming.

When folded out, the screen size was good and comfortable for holding, with the weight nicely distributed. However, I think that this was not a common screen aspect ratio. Yes, we could force these apps to fit the screen size using Samsung labs. However, it was not perfect as some of these apps tend to crop slightly to fit the screen aspect ratio. And it doesn’t work well on the game that it was in portrait mode. For viewing content, it was a perfect size, especially for documentation, excel, Word, pdf, and others.

Camera-wise, although on paper, it was not the top grade. Regardless of the reason, it was good in my opinion. I liked the way that it had many flexible ways to take photos. First of all, you take selfie photos with the back 50-megapixel camera. When you unfold, you can take the images with the preview mode, which I like. One more thing that I find helpful is that it can also allow the subjects to preview live what they look like in the photos. Yes, it might not be helpful to most of us and we might not use it. However, this is a good gimmick, especially taking the kids’ photos. It was extremely difficult to take photos of young kids, especially when you got a camera or phone pointing at them. I think kids’ photography is the biggest and toughest camera, as you will have to be very patient in capturing the right moment and that the moment might never come. With the front preview on, it captures their attention and makes it much easier to take a perfect photo.

Below are some of the un-edited photos taken with it

Would you swap back to the conventional phone? Perhaps, as technology keeps innovating, and for me, I like to change and experience something different once in a while. But as for now, it was something new and different for me, and I like it at this moment in time.